Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

National Maritime Museum

I had a fantastic day with my pal Lucie at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich today. I haven’t been there for several decades and what a wonderful place it is. Lucie is a historian who has done a lot of work on Nelson and on the Tudor period so she really was the best companion.

I loved the ship’s figureheads; to me they seemed like silent story keepers. Of course most of those stories are very problematic. To my mind we have to acknowledge and learn about those histories no matter how difficult in order to come to terms with our history and hopefully change things for the future.

The Astronomy Photographer of the Year is the featured exhibition - I’m sure lots of you have been to this. The photos are incredible! Not only were they beautiful but the stories behind the images, along with the technical details (of which I only understood a tiny bit) made for a very satisfying experience. Our favourites were the images that included something human - Spaceex or a derelict ship or building set against the sun, aurorae or a comet or eclipse. Magical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.