CeliaGerson

By CeliaGerson

Battling the machine

My postage meter, an essential part of my business, has not been able to connect with the internet for weeks. So although I have continued metering mail, I have not been able to replenish the ever-dwindling postage funds from the Postal Mother Ship in the sky. Today, after trying one last improvement (a router upgrade) which failed to fix the problem, I called the meter leasing company for help. There I was given three different technicians, none of whom solved the problem. As I was waiting for my own IT guru to call me back, I suddenly had a brainstorm, and proceeded to reverse the steps the last technician put me through, thereby shifting the machine’s connectors from Manual (the technician’s choice) to Automatic (my choice). Voila! It connected and downloaded new postage. For about sixty seconds, I felt like a genius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.