Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Flower Mantis

Identification - Creobroter gemmatus - flower mantis.

The last few days have been very hot, humid, sunny and rain free. Could it be that the dry season has finally arrived. Today's blip could certainly be a sign, as I have not photographed a flower mantis since 1st November last year.

The beauty of completing a whole year of bug blipping in the same location, is that I have a time record of the bugs that I have shot. Just like the snake of two days ago, I shot snakes from June to September, the dry season. So it seems that many creatures are seasonal, even here were it is hot every day. The bugs are telling me yes, the dry season is here.

The mantis is fully grown, about 1.5" long and so a hibernation has to have taken place, the same thing with the snakes. But, hibernation usually involves a reduction in temperature that allows cold blooded creatures to conserve energy for the long fast. This is something that I need to read up on, if I find anything, I will share it on the next relevant blip. I could be way off base with the suggestion of a hibernation, as there is no mention on an initial search. But I am always on the lookout for mantids, so there must be an explanation.

Called a flower mantis because it usually sits in the middle of a flower head, in ambush for bugs and butterflies. However, I spotted this one moving along leaves.

From the bulky six segment abdomen and the wispy antennae, this is a female. The antennae of males are thicker and longer, also the males have eight segments on the abdomen which is a lot skinnier. Females are usually larger, but not a good way to sex a mantis. Another way is the wing length. The female wing just about reaches the tip of the abdomen whereas male wings are longer.

I was tempted to crop in for some head detail, but I think for the first of the season, I think that a full length of this regal bug is in order.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.