NStephens

By NStephens

Historic Murrumbidgee Flood Marker

I went for a walk along the Murrumbidgee River and came across this Historic Flood Marker in North Wagga (an area very susceptible to flooding). Considering I stand 2.05m the marker was surprisingly tall, I mean, I had absolutely no idea the floods over Wagga's history had reached 5 times my height!! This is what I was trying to emphasis by shooting from low to high.
The other thing you probably noticed is the Monochrome effect (with a Sepia tone). It's the first time I've used this mode on my camera and I really like what it's giving me here! The marker has that rustic effect I was seeking so I'm happy!
Another reason I like this shot is the strong leading lines from the bottom edges leading towards the centre.

And just for your curiosity here are the records for peak flood levels in Wagga Wagga (from highest down)
1. 10.74m 1974
2. 10.60m 2012
3. 10.13m 1950
4. 9.67m 2010
5. 9.58m 1956
6. 9.41m 1989

I'd love to hear from you about my photo. What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.