biddy

By biddy

Frost patterns………..

……..on the inside of each of the summerhouse windows first thing this morning. It was -7C overnight, and -3C by breakfast time.
I finally think the awful cold/virus/whatever it was, has left.
It was blissful to be able to sleep more normally last night.
Just after breakfast I wrapped myself up in my oversized polar bear hoodie, and went to take some photos in the summerhouse.
I marvel at the beauty of the filigree and designs that the frost produces.
When I was growing up in Rossendale, Lancashire, in the family two up, two down terraced house at the top of an extremely steep cobbled street, the bedroom my sister and I shared regularly had frost patterns on the inside of the windows in winter!
No central heating then, just coal fires.
Here’s a piece I wrote about it in a blog I used to write about my childhood.

http://capturinghistoryforthenextgeneration.blogspot.com/2011/11/saturday-19-december-2009-childhood.html

The sky is once again an incredible clear icy blue today, and I think the Redwings have almost denuded the Holly bush!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.