A day in the life

By Shelling

Unemployed

Snowstorm yesterday, glorious sun and no wind today. As made for a walk in the wood. This is a walk I normally don't do in the winter because it's usually too soggy but we've had frost for a long while now, and snow yesterday so I gave it a try. I thought maybe the wind would have produced deep snowdrifts but the walking was fine and the path visible the whole time. I was the first one, the only tracks before me was from various animals like deer and hares, and the silence was audible. When I reached the meadow after the stone-age village I could hear someone chopping up a tree in the distance. Join me on the path a couple of minutes, leading to the blip-place if you like, by this link.

This old horse-drawn hay rake is waiting for next autumn when the meadow behind it has been cut by men using scythes, the rake will gather the hay in heaps or strings. I've managed to miss the event every year but as far as I know, it is still in use.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.