secret garden

By freespiral

Fairy trees

Still cold but it seems we have another storm on the way now, bringing some seriously wet and warmer stuff.

 An unexpectedly busy day . Himself is immured in the downstairs's loo preparing  a wall for some new tiling prior to the new loo going in.  J arrived to restore the front wall which has been driven into by tractors a few time and the old wooden post have rotted and I have finished a new blog I was thrilled to find the two black and white photos from the 1940s and have been waiting permission to use them from the National Library, now given. I have also been asked to give an interview for the local paper tomorrow about St Brigid wells in West Cork - it's her 1500th anniversary coming up and a big deal! So I've been swatting up on those  - 14  in all should you be interested! Michael, we;re rendezvousing in Fields!

My pix today are a slight cheat - actually taken yesterday in the searing sunshine  and part of my walk. They're from an ancient graveyard, in use from 1842-1901, so the inscription on the wall tells me. It's in the middle of a field,  enclosed by a stone wall and containing many little grave markers (no inscriptions) and some fine hawthorns and holly trees, as is fitting. I especially like the hawthorns with their wrinkled berries contrasting with the silvery lichen. Amazing to see so many left as the redwings and fieldfares are in town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.