Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I eventually made my mind up about driving to Stanage, I'd been worried about snow, and set off by 9am. I wanted to go to Stanage Pole, somewhere I've never been, amazingly, but perhaps it's because it's quite a way back from the Edge.

I stopped to use the toilets in Hathersage, and popped into Outside to look for another pair of climbing shoes. My other pair is ok, but I wanted to get a second pair in good time, and I knew that unfortunately Five 10 have gone out of business and you can't get Anasazi Guides any more.

So I wanted a lace up, as close to the bottom as possible because of the bunions, unlined leather and comfy! I ended up with La Sportiva Finales, which felt quite good and will soften up. I hope! I probably could've got them cheaper online, but Outside are a really good outdoor shop and it's important to support them.

Then a drive up to Stanage Edge, boots on and start my walk. I reached the Pole and carried on towards Redmires Reservoirs, walking all the way round them and then retracing my steps back to the car. It was freezing all day, and the wind had got stronger on the way back.

I was going to do another walk with Derbyshire Dales Ramblers tomorrow, but have thought better of it, I'll walk on Sunday. 

6.94 miles
870 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.