Angel watching over me....

That has nothing to do with my blip, which would have been perfect for the abstract challenge yesterday. I looked down at the coffee in the filter after the water had been poured through and I noticed all these tiny bubbles. I grabbed my camera and voila... today's blip. If you look at the bubbles you can see tiny red marks in each one.. those are my arms in my red sweater and the camera is smack in the middle. How funny!!!!! So a different sort of photo from me today.

So pertaining to my title... As I was driving home today from town my car started making a big racket. I thought okay, go slow and just get home. I wasn't too far. I made it past the town landing and was driving up the little hill (very rural, residential area, thankfully) and HOLY S#@T my front left tire went careening off across the road! I watched it roll and hit the bumper of some guy's plow truck that was parked in his yard, while at the same time my car had clunked down on the rotar. I was able to coast off the road, more or less in someone's driveway, parallel to the road.
I thought my axle had broken. I walked over and looked at the guy's bumper.. just a tire mark but not an issue. He came out and checked on me. Basically the lugnuts came off. No broken axle. Dan had changed my tires for the winter tires about a month ago. None of the others had any issue, but clearly these had needed to be tightened.
Dan was able to come and manged to bring lugnuts that fit the car and jack it up and put the tire back on.
I am still shaken up, thinking about the what ifs....  I was supposed to have a doctor's appt. in Ellsworth this morning but it got cancelled on their end so I didn't drive all that way. I was in town in Blue Hill  but it could have happened on a busy road and I could have been going faster and with no good place to pull off. It could have happened Wed. night going to or coming back from choir in the dark.
Holy cow.... I drove home with no problem.   I think I'm going to make myself a drink...lol...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.