Saviour...

A relatively warm and bright start to the day, so we decided to make a Father's Day trip to Holme Fen - lots of insects for Pete and Chris, lots of photo opportunities for me. Now, entomologists are even slower than photographers, so Rosie and I got ahead. We sat down for a while on a grassy ride, enjoying the warm sunshine and the swish of the breeze through the birch leaves, while the other caught up.

After a few moments I heard some strange noises coming from a nearby tree. Being nosy, I got up to investigate, but got side-tracked watching this saw-fly laying eggs in the unfurling bracken fronds. I'd just finished photographing it when the noisy tree crashed down on the ride about five metres away from me. If it hadn't been for this little insect I might have been squashed flat!

The afternoon was spent preparing a special Father's Day meal. Chris helped me repare slow-cooked beef in red wine, and Ben made lemon shortbread to accompany a deconstructed Eton Mess (Chris doesn't eat cream and Alex doesn't eat strawberries, so this is one way everyone can have what they like). Alex was beavering away at his assignments, but managed to make time to set the table. A good day all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.