Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Challenge Jamie: Have a Heart!

It was an early start today to ride in the British Heart Foundation South Wales Cycle Ride in Swansea. I've supported the charity for a number of years now as I've seen first-hand how heart disease can affect people's lives, so I was riding in honour of someone who had a major influence in my life. The plan was to do the 46 mile route, however, just about 3 miles in I left some pebble dashing along the route and that drained me of every ounce of energy. Feeling really rough I had to make a decision as to whether to go on or quit, there was no way I was going to quit, so I went with the 12 mile route instead. I'm disappointed to have had to reduce the challenge, but I will be back and I'll make sure I'm ready for the other challenges that lie ahead this year.

* Here are some facts about heart disease from the British Heart Foundation:
* Around 4,600 babies in the UK are born each year with Congenital Heart Disease
* Nearly 810,000 people in the UK live with heart failure
* Every six minutes someone dies from a heart attack in the UK
* Cardiovascular disease (CVD) is the biggest cause of death in the UK

If you would like to donate please use me Just Giving page here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.