Elective in India

By Niebunuo

The royal tour

I was out fairly early this morning to go on a walking tour of the city- my guide was fantastic, and I learnt lots of unexpected things about Mysore.
Today's blip is taken from Devaraja market, there were so many colours and so many smells- especially the flower market, everywhere smelt of jasmine and roses. There was an entire section purely for bananas (apparently because they are a poor man's fruit, a d they contaminate the other fruits); I got to see where the vendors smoke the green bananas to ripen them too.
All the vegetable rubbish gets piled up during the day, and then at night gates are opened and the cows are allowed in to eat it all up- hey presto the place is clean (...well, cleanish anyway) -if only I could have something like that back home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.