HareBrain

By HareBrain

Door Topper

My friend J is a very talented woodworker and when he gets tired of making large functional objects he likes to combine his woodwork with his love of art.  I love the door toppers he has in his house so asked him if I could commission him to make me one -  and so he did and produced this lovely one of some of the houses on Front Road, St. Margaret’s  Hope, Orkney. 
 
One of my very favourite holidays was to Orkney in 2014.  Blipper Poppy kindly sent us loads of useful history and information, leaflets of places to visit, travel info and even a suggestion of a house to rent for the time we were there.  Everything went like clockwork, we did rent Poppy’s friend’s gorgeous ‘Leith’s House’ (second from the right on the Topper) and we got to meet the lovely Poppy, M, her delightful husband and their wonderful dog Olly (but who sadly died a few years later).  I took some great photos of our wonderful holiday and the Topper, being visible every time I walk through the sitting room door, brings back those unforgettable memories of our very special holiday to a very special place.

Golly, it is VERY windy here. In North Shropshire.  Hope everyone is safe and OK? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.