PandaPics

By pandammonium

Frothy coffee

Concentration lapses

I made pains au chocolat from a kit with frothy coffee for brunch. I nearly didn’t get any milk to froth because I let it boil over. Oops.

I made a black bean sauce for tea, but let the base of garlic, ginger and chilli oil burn. Oops.

Films

We watched a film last night and a couple this afternoon. Normally, Mr Pandammonium picks the better ones, but the one he picked yesterday was pretty slow.

When it seemed like it had been on a long time, I could no longer hold in my complaint.

‘It’s been on ages, and there’s been no—‘

There was the inciting incident, the hook, right there.

I chose the first one for today; it was better than yesterday’s. The second one was, I suppose, a joint effort.

‘That one?’

‘Yeah, ok.’

It was in between the other two. Mr Pandammonium, looking up from his phone, told me it cost six million dollars to make, but only made two hundred thousand and something.

‘That’s not good.’

There seems to be a trend for psychological thriller films focusing on a small cast with not much dialogue and not a huge amount of action.

Not writing

This morning, I was supposed to be meeting my writing buddies for a writing session on Zoom, but the others messed up their respective calendars. We’ll meet next weekend instead.

While I’d been waiting for them, I read the first two pages of four space operas (operas as in soap operas and horse operas, not as in Carmen and The Barber of Seville) that one of them had asked us which of them worked for us.

We discussed them a bit instead of having our Zoom call. Space opera isn’t my thing, but I knew which one I’d continue reading out of the four.

One opened with an information dump (yawn); two opened with a prologue full of information dump (yawn); three started in an intriguing way, but soon gave way to information dump (yawn); four opened with action, giving only necessary information only when necessary.

The one with the prologue beat the others to a prize. My writing buddy who has read the whole thing said she’d give it 3/5.

Update

Who turned out the lights?

Storm Isha did!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.