Arachne

By Arachne

Coddled brick

When we weren't eating birthday food and playing games, three of us continued the work that two of us were doing on Friday afternoon: moving into the shed the contents of the greenhouse (so that I'll be able to dismantle and move it), tidying  bricks into piles and folding some of the tarps and plastic sheets that the builders left behind. In the greenhouse I found that my box of seeds, which must have been moved on Friday to a space under broken glass, was full of last night's rain and the peas, beans and second-generation Greek butternut squash seeds were swollen. Nothing for it but to water the seed trays (which had remained under intact glass!) and plant all the seeds that will otherwise rot. I don't expect any crop at all but nothing ventured...

One of our group took a mid-afternoon train westwards into the storm and got home in reasonable time; one waited a bit too long and, travelling eastwards with the storm, was delayed; one cycled down the road and I gratefully stayed put.

Now the wind is raging here and I just hope that the things that didn't fit into the shed are adequately secured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.