On Some Days

By V1k1

Welcome Home . . . Dave Dobbyn

I had a chnge in routine today and went to Nelson becaused I had been summoned for Jury Duty.  I was one of 38 names drawn out in a pre ballot.  I didn't make the final 12 which I wasn't sad about.  The case is only going to be two days  so I can check on the website to see if I am needed for later in the week.  I got to observe my fellow citizens.  It was a wide range of ages and ethnicities, the secrurity staff are friendly, none of the 12 selected for the jury swore on the bible, they swore the oath read from a card, none of the 12 were challenged by the lawyers, the two defendants pleaded not guilty, the judge introduced himself in Maori and English, several people acknowledged their presence with a Maori greeting.  We who weren't chosen were thanked for our service.  That isn't a common saying here in New Zealand.  The names are drawn out of a wooden ballot box.
Before going into the court I got this blip which is an empty building colourfully painted with Tukutuku patterns.   I couldn't find any information about who decorated it.   Tukutuku panels are a traditional Māori art form. They are decorative wall panels that were once part of the traditional wall construction used inside meeting houses.  Each area will have their own patterns that tell legends and you can 'read' the walls if you have the knowledge.
The blip may not be quite straight but it has a biker for my biking blipmates and the Fuji shop becasue I have a Fuji camera  and so do some of my blipmates.  It was a cloudy morning and showery
 
From the song:

. . . There's a woman with her hands trembling
And she sings with a mountain's memory
There's a cloud the full length of these isles
Just playing chase with the sun
And it's black and it's white and it's wild
All the colours are one
So welcome home, I bid you welcome, I bid you welcome
Welcome home from the bottom of our hearts
Welcome home, see I made a space for you now . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.