isbi

By isbi

MM: Green Mountains and Cullenbenbong

"How Green Was My Valley" by Richard Llewellyn was my first thought of a book title for MonoMonday today but green as our valley is at present it doesn't really suit mono (although if I cut the sky out it would be mono green).

However then I thought I should do "Green Mountains and Cullenbenbong". 
The author, Bernard O'Reilly, actually lived in our house here as a child after moving from Cullenbenbong in the neighbouring Kanimbla Valley. That would be the area in the distance in the blip. An image worth viewing in large.

He later moved to Queensland and is famous for discovering the Stinson plane which disappeared over rugged bushland between Brisbane and Sydney in 1937. He rescued two badly injured survivors.  It's a fascinating story if you have time to go down the rabbit hole.

O'Reilly's Guesthouse in the Lamington National Park in south eastern Queensland was established by the O'Reillys and is a popular tourist destination. We haven't been there yet but it's on our list.

Thanks steveng for hosting. I love book/film/song themes. Makes it easy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.