Let them eat cake

Fresh from a lovely day with good pals down here in Lelant, we were treated to cake. This of course got me to thinking, what are my top 5 favourite cakes..

@ 5 the fondant fancy. You totally have to be in the mood for it but if you are the ff cannot be underestimated in its capacity to thrill. Pink for me every time
in @ 4 banana & nut loaf. A classic recipe ensures this is crusty and not too wet. I fully appreciate how amusing this sounds...
up to 3 has to be fruit cake but I should add this can only really be made by my dear mother
& @ 2 the royal coffee & walnut cake. Again I prefer mine to be well done just like you feel when you leave a garage having bought a car...
& still @ no. 1 after all these years the almighty egg custard. My dear great aunty Edith made the best egg custard - a huge version into which you would slice out a chunk and savour the sweet glorious texture as you slid it into your highly expectant mouth, salivating as you did and wanting nothing more than to take another offering into your mouth...

I thankyou.

A

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.