Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Nineveh

When I was working I went to Oxford for meetings at least once a month for about twelve years. In that time I never had the chance to visit Christ Church cathedral and college. So today was the day for that long anticipated trip. The stained glass was superb. I was particularly taken by the wonderfully preserved 14th century windows in the Latin chapel, by the huge St Michael and Angels fighting the dragon by Clayton and Bell,  the  beautiful pre-Raphaelite Edward Burne-Jones windows and the 2023 St Francis of Assisi window by John Reyntiens. I was also amused by the Alice in Wonderland characters alongside the portraits of Alice Liddell and Lewis Carroll  in the stained glass windows of the student dining hall. My blip however is a detail from a window by Abraham van Linge entitled 'Jonah surveys Nineveh' (now known as Mosul) which dates from 1631. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.