David J. Rose

By djrose007

My shower facecloth!

The things that trigger memories are continuously amazing me.
When we went away this past weekend I used my RAF rucksack to save space as we were also transporting cakes, sandwiches, presents etc......
When we got back I unpacked and in the bottom of one of the deep side pockets I found the Emirates facecloth.
The memory it invoked is from our journey to Tasmania in January 2002. It was a long haul from LHR to Dubai, Changi (Singapore) and then Melbourne. Arriving at Melbourne we found we had a nine hour wait for the flight to Launceston, Tasmania.
I went to the bathroom and found they had showers. Nipped back and said to the others, all five of us went by the way, "I'm going to have a shower", one of them said that we didn't have a towel. "But I do have THIS", I said as I whipped out the Emirates facecloth that I'd kept from the personal kit they give you.
The shower was so refreshing, and I had another 8 hours to dry off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.