Trixie's Adventures

By TrixieTheCollie

Storm Isha

Wasn't it wild last night? My human was really, really, scared! She's never known it so windy in Cornwall. I was a bit scared too. The wild winds were horrendous. We went to bed just after 10pm and I was allowed to sleep on Ann's bed because she didn't want to be by herself and neither did I.

We kept hearing things moving around in our loft (we haven't got anything in our loft, apart from an old dog gate) or on the roof, and Ann was convinced that when we got up this morning, we wouldn't even have a roof?!! Honestly my human is such a drama Queen?!!

About 4-5am things seemed to calm down a bit, so I went back downstairs into my own little bed. Ann was awake for most of the night and by 7am she decided that we were getting up and going out for my walk. We went down to the beach, which was lovely, because the rain had stopped and the wind had dropped, and there was nobody else about. However, first, we had to do a reccy to make sure no tiles had blown off our building. Fortunately they hadn't. Phew!!! TBH, after my trek along the beach and around town, there actually didn't seem to be too much damage in St Ives. 

Not so in Edinburgh, where we have our other home. FB has been full of photos of fallen trees and delayed transport.

After breakfast, I had snooze time and Ann went off for a swim at 'Ayr Caravan Park', across the road from us. It's lovely. The pool/restaurant area was re-built last year and it's open to non-ressies. Ann and her friend were the only people in there. How fabulous is that?

This afternoon Ann wanted to go over to Penzance to buy a few bits & bobs, so I had my walk along the Prom and around the boating lake, etc, etc. It was lovely.

'Storm Isha' seems to have gone away now, but we're just watching the news.................... It would seem that 'Storm Jocelyn' is on the way..............................

PS- What my human would like to know is........................ When did storms start getting names? (Oh apparently it was 2015??!! - the guy on ITV news has just said that) 


When did a bit of wild & windy weather start being a danger to life? When did kids stop going to school when it rained? When did we start to issue amber, red, etc warnings for storms?


PPS – My human started school in January 1964. She'd got a tricycle for Christmas and the snow was so bad she wasn't able to ride it until March, but she was still able to walk, almost a mile to school every morning, walk home for lunch & back again, and then walk home at the end of the day. …...........And after the first few days............... she didn't even need her 'mummy' to take her or come and pick her up.


PPPS – When did the UK become such a 'nanny' state?


PPPPS – My human says she'd better stop ranting now.


Toodles. xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.