proutydwarflife

By proutydwarf

Little Dad....

The look on Megan's face is one I am all too familiar with....

....its the look of quiet disbelief as a mum sits by and lets her four or five year old son stare and point and remark about her dad....we are just sat waiting for Meg to go into her ballet lesson.

While the little boy is pointing and laughing, saying things like, ugly or stupid, or midget, as the mum in a mild panic, flaps about....Meg just switches her gaze from the mum to me and back again, with this mild look of horror the only give away that anything is occurring....

Its not until the mum has quickly ushered the little boy away from the scene that Meg will say anything to me.

It's something my kids notice more than I do, I'm probably more inured to it after 44 years.

Sarah too has become kind of immune to registering incidents like this but she often notices our kids being more sensitive to it, understandably....

Jess and Sam are cool, they understand its merely a display of ignorance by idiots; they sometimes have put up with it from morons at school, it's an easy target subject....they just tell the protagonist to F-off....!!

At school Ruby gets offended by such impertinence, she will tell a teacher....and later she will tell me, with obvious disgust at how mean it all is....

Megan however, is different altogether....she will demonstrate little anger or anxiety, moreover, she will just make sure I'm ok....and tell me how lucky she is to have a little dad :)

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.