Tom and Hector

Hector quite often hides under my desk but I'm not really sure why Tom chose to join him there.

Beck and I went to see Dorien Lynskey talk about protest songs at Lowdham Book Festival this afternoon. Obviously he didn't cover the whole spectrum covered by his '33 Revolutions' book, but the period he concentrated on - the eighties, and specifically the way pop music dealt with some key figures (Thatcher, Mandela and Reagan) - was definitely of interest to both of us. The rest of the crowd would perhaps have appreciated a bit of Dylan and Baez above the Frankie and Bragg (I've never seen quite so many white pigtails in one room before!) but I think an interesting time was generally had by all. We bought a copy of the book for Beck to read but she insisted on getting DL to sign it for me, which was the first time she'd done something similar, I think, since she queued in Selectadisc on my behalf to get Bob Mould to sign a copy of the first Sugar album in 1992!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.