Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

La bohème

Back blip: yesterday I went to London to see La bohème at the Coliseum with my mum, grandmother, uncle and his girlfriend. The trip was planned by my mother as part of a birthday celebration for my grandmother. This was my nana's first birthday since her daughter sadly lost her battle with cancer last November, and my mum made a huge effort to make sure this birthday would be memorable for the right reasons.

We were staying at the May Fair hotel, and very very annoyingly (in spite of their exorbitant room prices) we were left waiting over 2 1/2 hours for one of our rooms to be made available! We were all piled into Nana's room, waiting for the call from reception, which was ridiculous as we'd intended to spend that time getting ready (and giving Nana a chance to put her feet up as her hip was giving her trouble).

Things picked up a lot once we'd made our way to the Coliseum. We had a spare ticket for the performance which we gave to my friend Reuben (because he was the first person to reply to my facebook appeal for an opera buddy). The show was very good, we enjoyed it immensely. Afterwards, we went for the spiciest Chinese meal known to man (I'm paying for it today). The restaurant is where this shot of me and my mum was taken. My uncle's hand is the one doing the bunny ears!

All in all, it was a very good evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.