Number147

By Number147

Wednesday

Today was our neighbour, Brian's, funeral. He died 5 weeks ago, just before Christmas. So the family had a long wait.

Coincidentally, Brian was a childhood friend of Sarah's dad and they lived in the same street in a village near Trowbridge. He was later a village Bobby and later again, a crime scene officer.

The exit song was "What a wonderful world' which is very popular. We sang it at Alzheimer's Support when I worked there and it gets me every time.

Sarah and I could not keep it together. I think the relief on the faces of the family triggered my tears, along with the song.

Katie said the thought of him lying cold and alone these last weeks has been unbearable.

A lovely gathering afterwards. He was the father of 4 and I get on well with both his daughters, Gill and Katie.

We've eaten well but I know Katie will be on the door step later with plates of cake for us.

A beautiful day. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.