Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mika Martinez

January 23 was a whole week of blips in one day. The main is the marvelous photographer Mika Martinez, wearing her bespoke leather camera harness and working on a beautiful project called “Soy Yo.” She won a grant to create a photographic exhibit and a video of portraits of people from Spanish-speaking cultures who live in Portland, emphasizing the diversity and differences in their ethnic groups, personalities, and backgrounds. Cristina was supposed to be one of Mika’s subjects, but Cristina had to cancel because she is in Arizona with Juan, her father, who is critically ill. Cristina and Mika haven’t yet met each other, but I know they will have much in common, and I expect they may work together in the future. 

Separate from their plan, I had offered my services to Mika as a “behind the scenes” photographer, and I made 506 photos today of Mika and her assistant at work making the portraits. That’s why I’m late posting; processing 500 photos is intense. This might be my favorite, as it shows the joy we photographers feel while we’re working on portraits. Here she was working with an 8-year-old boy who has cerebral palsy and a beautiful spirit. To her great surprise, after she photographed a woman who calls herself an “Herbalista,” that woman gave Mika the gift of a sound bath with her drum (first third extra, sometimes extras unload differently than we expect). 

After four hours of photographing Mika making photographs, I stopped for lunch out and then walked to Margie’s apartment. On the way I met Will Scriven, who I’ve known for years (second extra). He’s a local busker who was out on the street making (as always) his beautiful music. 

And then there was Margie (third first extra). Margie was on a rant. I asked how she’s feeling, and she said, “What am I going to do? I’m healthy. I don’t have cancer, heart trouble, high blood pressure. I don’t even have much arthritis, just in my hands and it doesn’t even hurt. But my brain is no use any more. How am I ever going to get out of here? I’ve done what I came to do. But here I am,” she laughed, “can’t seem to get out.” 

Margie wants to leave. Juan wants to stay. Will wants to keep on busking. I want to keep on making photographs of people.

Sad update: Juan died early this morning, January 24. His work here is done. May he rest in peace. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.