Marking Time

By Libra

Golden Wedding

 
Tomorrow we leave before dawn to go somewhere warm. Yes, it’s our Golden wedding anniversary. Today though we have been surprised and delighted to receive so many cards and presents from family and friends.
 
Another surprise is the reaction from people. Many have never met a couple  who have been married for 50 years.  I feel we are something of an oddity, something from a bygone age. But, like everything else in this world , relationships have speeded up.
 
M met a friend in town today whom he hadn’t seen for some time, and he happened to mention we were going away tomorrow because it’s our Golden Wedding.  He expected to be congratulated. Instead, his friend, let’s call him G, replied: 
“I  have just celebrated my 60th wedding anniversary and I am 87.”
 
This is not the first time I have noticed folk become quite competitive when they reach a certain age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.