Choose Joy

By Energia

Today’s light was fog

We had fog, lots of fog, all day fog, but fog can make for dramatic looks. When I was in Vietnam I went to an amusement park and part of the day was intensely foggy and I have the most amazing pictures as a result. 

Today I received a $200 donation! This will pay for juice. The kids will have something besides coffee to drink (hey, they aren’t my kids)! Now a company that offers consulting to be more sensitive to and offer better services to the LGBTQ community in schools, government, and businesses is giving me a donation! 

The company needs a 501(c)3 to donate to in order to get tax credit for donating. There is an organization willing to be a fiduciary sponsor, meaning the donation goes to them and they provide their tax id and then they buy the juices, napkins, etc.  She is willing to accept a (singular) check and use the organization’s tax id number but she is too busy to accept multiple checks or offer a way to do this via credit card so no, you can’t donate this way. Sorry. 

I watched a wonderful online presentation my club held on motion photography. I didn’t join the club before because they held events during the week and I was unlikely to be able to make it on time and, after the accident, I was generally completely exhausted by the end of the work day. Now that I am teleworking and the events are online I can enjoy them and will probably join the club. The techniques were amazing. Many of them I’ve already played with, like long exposure for waterfalls and light painting and intentional camera movement and even panning. I haven’t tried rear sync flash and I’m looking forward to that. You wouldn’t believe what Betsy Wilson and her husband have done with the simple scanner. 

Turkish banks have started to refuse to work with Russian banks, like Chinese banks, to avoid the sanctions the Biden administration has imposed. 

Ukraine’s drone attack on January 18, on an oil terminal, is the first time they’ve attacked Putin’s resort home area. He has set up an air defense system to protect that residence. 

Thousands of Russian citizens have lined up to support of presidential hopeful Boris Nadezhdin. The opposition candidate needs enough signatures to appear on Russia's ballot in March. They lined up in frigid cold. He opposed the “special military operation.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.