tempus fugit

By ceridwen

A reddish sort of day

For the first time this year the dawn was rosy in the east.
It didn't rain and in the afternoon dog and I set off for the woods.
On the way we met my friend Nicky, returning thence in her crimson duffel coat. We stopped to chat and she listed all the books she's had for Christmas (her partner always buys her a stack of the latest novels, which I get to read eventually.)
 I scoured the woods for scarlet elf cups which should be up by now but were not in evidence, until I found one single clump (extra).
By then Raki had disappeared, as she is wont to do, and didn't come when called with increasing fury.
I had to retrace my steps a long way to find her, abject with guilt.
We walked home in silence. Ruddy dog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.