The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Granton Spring Water

It was a wild wet and windy day. Being old terraced houses, I mean delightful fishermen’s cottages, the down pipes from the guttering empty into small metal drainage channels. I walk over them daily tutting - I’m the only person that lifts the covers and clears them out. Of course, I only do that to the one outside my own house. Look at that water gush! Drinking water quality, that.
Much later, I met AJ for a swifty and then it was down to Tynecastle for the re-arranged game vs Dundee. A win would take us eight points clear (in third place admittedly) of the pack. Effing effsakes - two down at half time! My pal MrFT, ensconced amongst the jubilant away fans, contacted me asking whether we could expect a “game of two halves.” At that point I was hoping it would be match abandoned due to the filthy weather. But crikey, did we not do it - three goals!! And a missed penalty and a fourth “chalked off” for offside. Nieuwenhof, Lembikisa and Oda - I thought I’d write the names of the three goal scorers as in a year's time I won’t even remember that they once, briefly, played for us. Such is the modern game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.