BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Hurkle-Durkle

'We are hurkle-durklers
We love to hurkle-durkle'
- Anon, circa 1823

Maybe, in your circle, you frown upon
those who hurkle-durkle?
Disapprove, perhaps, of sleepyheads
who lie in bed and believe work'll

wait indefinitely for them to rise
and shine? Fine. It's true, they do
ignore the alarm and the crowing cock.
Sometimes they don't get up till 12 o'clock!

They dawdle under their duvet.
Yawn. Cuddle. Snooze.
And, during some somnolent sessions,
believe it or not, things get hot - they sizzle!

Yes, things really perk up.

Too much info?

But don't you want to know
of the comfort and heart
-warming pleasure a leisurely start
can offer. No?

OK, I get it. You're busy.
Busy busy busy. B-U-S-Y.
Yet, you must agree, I tried.
But now I'm tired. T-I-R-E-D.

So, it's back to bed, for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.