Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

The Igo Inn

up in Ballybrack.

A lovely day today and I brought my friend out for a drive around Killiney. She had surgery 6 weeks ago and still a bit fragile.

She suggested we have lunch in The Igo Inn and I said OK. I have never been there before. The friendly waiter handed us the menus and told us the day’s special was Chicken Salt in Bokko. We looked amazed as never heard of it. He told us it was mashed potatoes, a layer of mushroom soup, chicken breast topped off with fried crispy onions. We declined as only wanted ham/cheese toasties and rock shandies (Irish style). We got chatting to elderly couple beside us who told us the Igo used to be a bona fide traveller pub. Whereby on a Sunday you could get a drink if you were travelling. I had to google when I got home and came up with this..

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/books/10-things-you-might-not-know-about-irish-pubs-1.2668558

(This is really funny, please take time to read it - scroll to number 6)

Anyhoo I drove her home. She invited me in for tea and slice of Christmas Cake and I’m just home now.

I should have been in college but I took an ecumenical decision and went AWOL. But I learnt about Chicken dish and bona fide travelling pubs instead.

Everyday is a school day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.