Way above me

About ten months ago I went to the Paralympics and, like many other people watching the athletes' astonishing achievements, had to do a huge reassessment of what happens in my head when I hear the word 'disabled'.

On the first evening of this year's Greenwich and Docklands International Festival I saw a performance next to the Thames by the theatre company Graeae which is made up entirely of actors with disabilities.

I was surprised by this graceful dance high above our heads in the trees. Why was I?

In less than a year, I've slipped back into lazy, stereotyped assumptions about what disabled people can (not) do and I feel thoroughly ashamed. How much is my surprise part of what prevents people with disabilities achieving what they can achieve, in sport, the arts or anything else?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.