Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Ely

Had to go to the bank after work this morning and my branch isn't far from the cathedral so it would have been rude not to walk by :)

Also had a last minute doctors appointment as the locum at my surgery wanted to see my broken ankle/foot for himself before embarking on next steps (as it were!) to recovery.

He agreed I must go back to Addenbrookes and when I explained what a joke it is trying to get through to any of the clinics he said I really must complain and not let hospitals be useless! I think the issue is more about understaffing than anything but he seemed to feel better for getting it off his chest!

Unfortunately he also thinks I've probably developed Complex Regional Pain Syndrome given the symptoms that are long-lasting and, though there's no cure, I can stop something called allodynia (when even the lightest touch can cause pain) by continuing my physio and massage and taking the painkillers. 

This had been suggesed to me last July but I dismissed it as I hadn't been back on my feet long at all but now we're rapidly approaching a year since the break, and, though I'm immensely grateful for the successful surgery that put my bones back together, I can't help but feel a little envious of the many people that get back to all their previous activities within a few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.