Sprout lover

By robharris35

Lancing abscesses

‘He is lancing abscesses’ was a Duolingo phrase today. Not one I can imagine using frequently.

When we went out for lunch today, Dennis had Bon Jovi playing in his car (Dry County, a track I was not familiar with). ‘I spent a considerable amount of my PhD stipend in Norway on CDs’, he said. I was transported back to the 1990s when I used to sleep over at Gaz’s on a mattress and we thought we were the coolest ever as we always used to play Slippery When Wet on his hi-fi and fall asleep to it. Pop rock is a difficult genre to beat.

I went to the salon where the Lebanese guy cuts my hair. We had a spirited discussion about the destruction of Gaza, which was good because I haven’t got many like-minded friends here with whom I can get into the weeds of the debate. He got animated and wielded his scissors vigorously. His ensuing lack of focus on my hairline and the deftness that it requires to be passable resulted in a Mr Potato Head vibe.

I am travelling again soon so I am in an eating-up phase. I ate a bowl of spicy instant noodles and three boiled eggs. It was a frugal version of things done well by Japanese restaurants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.