JackTheLad

By JackTheLad

Edinburgh Bridges #01 : Junction Bridge

Been in a bit of a slough of late on the Blip front and needed to give a thought on how to keep my enthusiasm going, so I've come up with a plan.

Blip all of Edinburgh's bridges of which there are many some big, some wee, some pretty, some ugly, some fanciful and some utilitarian, some unchanged, some re-built, and write something about its history.

So here we are.

I was down at the Leith School of Art to see my friend Doug's contribution to the school's end of year exhibition. It was most impressive show, some the work from people who have started a second career after they had finished their first was amazing.

Anyway, after I left the Exhibition I wandered along the road and, as it was raining I took shelter under the Junction Bridge, where I took this Blip.

The Junction Bridge was originally built in the in 1818 as a relief for traffic accessing the docks without going through the rabbit warren of streets at the bottom of Leith Walk, though as with most municipal works delays ensured it took until the 1830's for road and bridge to be surfaced so that traffic could make it round to the dock's . It has been upgraded over the years with the biggest work done in 1909 to add concrete extensions on either side. The bridge had its last 'make over' in 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.