a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Dabchick

Just a solo Little Grebe today, but the Dabchick does look attractive in that golden light.  In many ways, once again it's the background that I was keenest on here.  While it was important to get a good shot of the bird, it was the setting that really lifted it for me.

The light is actually the reflection of sunshine on the reedbed behind the bird, but I do like that attractive combination of reflected gold and blue light.

From the comments on yesterday's blips I realise that the coot running on the water was many people's favourite shot.  It's funny, because I only took it as I was bored waiting for a more interesting bird to arrive, and thought it might be an interesting challenge.  I generally ignore the coots - they are omnipresent on the marshes and generally making a bit of a fuss one way or the other.  For anyone who is interested, the key thing is to get the nearest foot to be the leading leg - the bird running doesn't quite look right if not. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.