That'll do...

By LizMBpics

Carnival colours

I've had a quite a good day with my OM5 - as you can see, I got the 60mm macro out to play with my tulips which have reached the crinkly, twisted petal stage, so there may be another blip or two of them to come.  I love the mad colours - the sun streaming through the window behind the flowers so it really made the tones pop. 

The extra of the robin may look rather dull, but it's a rather good test shot taken as the light was fading this afternoon. I've lifted the colour/tones a little but it has not been sharpened at all.

When I was in town yesterday, I popped into WEX for a nosy and came out with a second hand metabones adapter so that I can now use my canon EF lenses on my OM5. 

So the first thing I went for was my trusty 70-300mm... Well. Pros and cons are summarised below:
Pros: 
  -  70-300mm on a micro 4/3s = 140-600mm.  Yes please to the extra reach!
- The electronics all work and talk to each other, so the lens stabiliser functioned and the auto focus worked about as well as it ever does in woody environments. (I had gloves on, so attempts to fine tune the manual focus was out of the question.)
- The best pics are impressively sharp where it matters.  (Check out the robin's eye!)

(Relative) cons:
 - This particular set up is top heavy as the lens weighs twice as much as the camera.
- It's also a power hungry lens and the smaller OM5 battery felt the strain.
- The shutter button felt a bit laggy, although that could have been the gloves. 
- You have to be aware of speed limitations in low(er) light conditions. 

So, overall, I'm impressed so far as some of the cons are obviously lens specific and the price you pay for having the extra reach. I'm looking forward to trying out some of my vintage lenses on the OM5 and I'm also interested to see how my 100mm L macro will perform on the OM5 when the bees start buzzing around again. 

If you got down this far, thank you for sticking with it! I'd be interested to hear if you anyone has had any similar experiences...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.