FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Kino

Took myself out on a date night tonight. I can’t remember the last time I went to the cinema on a Saturday night. I asked a few friends and no one was interested in coming out so I thought “Fine, I’ll take myself!

Supported independent cinemas this evening with a trip to Kino Hawkhurst to see the BFI film ‘The End We Start From’. It’s an apocalyptic story based on a book written entirely in poem so I knew it would be a little quirky.

I’d listened to an interview on R4 Women’s Hour with Jodie Comer so I had some idea what to expect. Jodie gives a powerful performance as the character ‘woman’ trying to survive with a new born baby. There’s a tiny cameo from Benedict Cumberbatch for a couple of scenes but as ever he steals the screen.

The film moves at a fairly slow pace, there’s very little soundtrack (so quiet in fact my gourmet overpriced popcorn bag remained unopened) and the result is a grippingly emotional story.

There’s some stunning locations shot in the Highlands and some clever CGI / set builds of a flooded London.

Highly recommend the film if you’re a Jodie fan. Just be prepared for a fair bit of crying baby scenes… apparently there were 14 baby actors as they’re only allowed on set for 10 mins at a time.

Enjoyed the Kino experience. Individual sofa chairs with cushions, glass side tables and only 26 seats in the auditorium. Several punters were enjoying gin and tonics from the bar, I opted for a Chai Latte as I was driving.

Earlier today I met a friend for coffee and a heart to heart. She’s been a bit overwhelmed this week, a good chat, slice of cake and chill time did the trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.