Living my dream

By Mima

Double-yoker

On the day that the three new hens arrived, one of the older ones laid this beautiful double-yoker. Maybe it was another hint that new chooks aren’t necessary. Too bad I’m afraid. 

The three new girls have settled in with remarkably little fuss. So far.

It’s been a nonstop day. Watering, picking, and processing. 
Bean and I collected a bowl full of apricots which meant I needed to get on with bottling straightaway. I got that job out of the way before I began making today’s cheeses: Camemberts and ricotta (from the whey).

The other crops today were runner beans, french beans, courgettes and the first cucumbers. The cucs herald the first tsatsiki of the summer, but I’ve been caught on the hop and I have to make yoghurt first. 

Talk about being caught, that’s what happened to Bean this afternoon - red-handed -mouthed - sucking ripe raspberries off the canes while I picked the higher ones. 

She is such a very good and well-behaved dog, that when she does something that I’m not happy about, it’s a real surprise. I had a stern word with her and she understands now. I’ll be amazed if she ever does it again: she hates being in trouble!

I’ve barely looked at blip today. I’ll catch up in due course, but in the meantime thank you for the comments, hearts and stars for yesterday's fruitiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.