Dakers

By Dakers

Pen And Pencil Sketches?

Thomas Chalmers is the Modern Scottish Worthy who appears in the thumbnail of today’s entry. I came across this particular volume as I continue to catalogue our book collection.

This particular volume is a third edition published in 1885. I chose to highlight Thomas Chalmers for several reasons. The surname Chalmers is a family name in my forbears. I was given it as a middle name.

Thomas Chalmers was a minister at Kilmany, a hamlet just to the West of Forgan. Several years we obtained Planning Permission and Listed Building Consent to convert Kilmany Church into a dwelling house.

Thomas Chalmers pulpit is still in the building and I tried it out for size.

Our home came complete with pulpit.

The term ‘pen and pencil sketches’ refers to the writing implements used by the authors of the manuscripts.

The text is illustrated with rather fine if small engravings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.