OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

A work by Ernesto Neto

I went through to Edinburgh for the day. I had a vague idea that there was something at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art that I 'd read about and found an exhibition of surrealist works from the gallery's own collection plus work from the Daskalopoulos Collection. There were some surreal scenes egwhere a gallery covered in images of genitalia with a demure young lady sitting in the corner ensuring proper behaviour by visitors. I liked some things but didn't really note names and things. This one is by the Brazilian artist Ernesto Neto and is called 'It happens when the body is anatomy of time' . I liked the similarity to internal human anatomy. The bases of the tree-like objects are weighted with pounds of spices- clove, cumin and turmeric.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.