David J. Rose

By djrose007

Out with the old!

Luckily, this change was quite straight forward, gets more complicated, and more wires - if there are two switches operating the light fitting. I took the top photograph to ensure I didn't forget which side the live and neutral wires went, couldn't see above the connecting block.
However, the cable was enormously too long so rather than cut it I thought I'd wind it up and put it into the cover - not so easy! The cable was not very flexible and would not kink the way I wanted it to. It also took up a lot of space in the cover so it took an awful long time, and many, many, attempts to be able to push it up into place and fit the small bolts into the holes where they screwed into. That was not counting the number of times I dropped the fiddly little things and had to keep getting down to search for them! By this time it was getting dark so I put the on-suite light on and the two bedside lights.
I could have cut the wire but I didn't know how long, or short, Marlane would want it so I persevered and got there in the end after tightening the coils of wire with a couple of small cable ties.
I've warned Marlane never to ask me to change a light fitting again! It was never my favourite job anyway but it's worse when you are older and your shoulders, back and neck ache from reaching and looking upwards.
Got there in the end.
P.S. that bulb is temporary until we get something more in keeping with the shade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.