madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

SDH

There are often horses around the village - seems to be a popular place to give them their exercise! These two were heading to the woods along the road parallel to mine. Oscar was out with the dog walker so I did a little walk alone to make my target of steps for the day. I'm now averaging 4,000 rather than 3,000 - progress! 
In the afternoon I had fun in the sunshine planting some Freesia bulbs and potting on violas whilst Oscar slept off his walk! I also cut  the branches off my next door neighbours Christmas tree for my blueberries! They were very pleased as now they don't have to get rid of it! I also made leek and potato soup which I haven't had in a long time. Homemade soups really are the best! 
I started the Pathway to happiness having completed the Big Joy. I can't say I feel any more joyful and in fact I  found some of the exercises a little futile if not downright annoying in their presentation! Lets hope the Pathway is better!
I coincidentally came across the abbreviation SDH - in a programme about BTS the Korean group ( all of whom are now fulfilling their military conscription) It's a series where the members look back over their 10 years in the music industry since debuting. This one concentrated on them now living in their own apartments having lived with each other since their trainee days. They were all enjoying having this solitary existence and being able to express their own personal taste and style in their homes. They also spoke of how they spent their days when not working. One commented how he enjoyed the silence and described it as one of his SDH's - Small but Definite Happiness. I really liked this expression and today was full of them! I think most people have such daily happiness rather than grand ones - maybe some don't even recognise such instances of happiness in their days, preferring outings and out of the normal events. I think it is synonymous with Mindfulness - being in the moment and really attending to what one is doing. 
I wish you all many SDH's in your days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.