Day Of The Diva

By Katherineellis

RIP Remix

Utterly heartbroken…

She’s been quite tired of late, and not quite herself, Zebedee and Natalia were taking her to the vet tomorrow to have her looked over. Natalia was out for the evening. Unfortunately, Zebedee was in the other room, and Max and I were watching TV and Remix with with us.

She seemed unsettled, and then started wretching, and was violently sick after which her stomach was in spasm on and off. She was lying on the floor and I went over to her and she wagged her tail, so I lifted her up and put her on the sofa between us on a towel, shortly after that, she did a poo. I called Zebedee to come in. After this she convulsed and arched her head back and frothed at the mouth, and then was gasping for breath every 10 seconds or so, it was awful. By this time we were on the phone to the emergency Vet and Zebedee ran next door and our lovely neighbour Nicola, who is a dog owner and dog lover gave Zebedee and I a lift there with her… she died in Zebedee’s arms on the way there, bless his heart, he was sobbing, and trying to give her mouth to mouth and massaging her little chest.

When we arrived, the vet confirmed what we already knew…

Natalia was on her way back and came straight over in a taxi, and unfortunately it fell to me to tell her that Remix had passed away over the phone… she lost her mother last May and really hasn’t got over that at all so this is just doubly awful. She has had this little dog since she was 14 years old, she is now 27.

Max and Zeb’s Friend Cameron arrived and Nicola went home. Natalia arrived shortly afterwards and they wanted to bring her home for the night, so Cameron gave us all a lift.

I can’t believe it, I really loved this little dog, she’s brought me so much joy and happiness. I am thankful that the end was quick and she didn’t really suffer, but I am so sorry that Natalia wasn’t here, I think it’s going to be so difficult for her to come to terms with that…

I took this photo this evening, she was sitting on a towel after she had been sick in case it happened again :-(

Life sure isn’t fair….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.