Davidsblips

By Davidsblips

A PAIR OF VISITORS

Just a glimpse of movement was enough. Then a tiny profile on the top of the fence. Could it be? It’s small enough. Then I spot its tiny upturned tail. Yes it’s a Wren being busy. But it’s still January. It comes off the top of the fence and clings to the fence as it pecks between the planks that make up the section that faces me. I’m told that it is getting food from between the joins. Then on the ground there’s further signs of movement. It’s another Wren - so it’s a pair - how wonderful. It’s a treasured memory as I watch them feeding on the trellis fixed to the garage wall before flying off in an instant.

Only then did I take a photo! There they were, gone.

I’m old enough to remember the farthing coin which had the profile of a Wren on it. A farthing was the smallest coin worth just a quarter of a whole (old of course) penny. What could it buy I wonder?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.