Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

Poppies and petals

After the doctors I took a walk down to Fortrose Harbour this morning.Not too bad a start to the day sun eventually came out between short showers.
There are a few wild flowers on the walk down the hill to the beach and I spotted these poppies against the stone wall with the petals of the dog roses surrounding them.
I was reading yesterday about someone who was encouraging people to scatter poppy seeds in random places to commemorate the outbreak of WW1 so that next year when they bloom we can remember those who lost their lives during the war 100 years ago.I think this is great idea and I hope you do too.
At the harbour a red Landrover was parked next to an old grey tractor.The owner and his black dog were laying sandbags along the front of the old cottages.
We had very heavy rain last night and it has flattened alot of the ornamental grasses and taller plants.
Wimbledon starts this afternoon so I might sit down with a blanket and the heating on and watch abit.Its freezing here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.