Full Strawberry Moon

In which I am offered the moon . . .

All day long, I was anticipating the moonrise, which was supposed to occur around 9 pm in my area. But then, late in the afternoon, clouds rolled in, and thunderstorms moved through the area. I worried that I might not get to see the moon!

But then, about a half-hour after the scheduled moonrise, I looked out the living room window and saw it - a bit of orange through the trees! Grabbed the camera, ran outside, left the camera bag on the front porch, ran with my camera across the road to a spot where I could get a clearer view. The moon was just starting to peep through the clouds. It seemed like a wispy hand was reaching out, offering me the moon . . .

And then my "change battery" light started to flash! Eep! Extra battery in the camera bag, on the porch. But I couldn't leave the moonrise to go get it! I took as many shots as I could before the battery ran out. :-) Note to self: do not take the camera ANYwhere without the camera bag!

The song I've picked for this photo is Neil Young's acoustic performance of Harvest Moon. Technically, the moon in this photo is not a harvest moon; it's a full strawberry moon. (More about full moon names and their meanings here.) But I think the song fits anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.