Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘Miles and Miles, Kilometers and Kilometers’

Ever since, over half a lifetime ago - unfit and overweight and with a premature middle age already on the horizon - I went (very gingerly) into a sports shop in Edinburgh’s Princes Street and came out with a pair of running shoes, trainers have had an essential role in helping me get around - and to keep fit. 

I have no idea how many trainers I've had, or how far I've travelled in them since that day over 40 years ago, though a succession of Garmin sports watches have recorded that I've run over 14,500 kilometres since 2006!

Age has taken its toll, and I am much, much slower these days - last year, I spent the equivalent of over a week running! 

The days of marathons are long past, but, based on the idea of ‘use it or lose it’, I am still up early putting on running shoes for parkrun on Saturdays and for a slow plod round the park most other mornings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.