gennepher

By gennepher

Ink painting

Wildlife nighttime video.
Foxes & Badgers & Cats - Foxy Loxy jumps on the swing
1min 15sec
https://youtu.be/lP2eaTePfRQ?si=moj4TOJEr3QQSYVB

Creative...Black fountain pen and spray water and water brush...

Yesterday I went out to do some stuff/shopping etc. The weather was foul. But it was so dark. The car's systems and Sat Nav turned to Night Mode (I hate that black night mode on maps, I cannot read the black map, my last car's Sat nav stayed in the daytime mode but greyed a bit at night) and there are no settings to override it. I wasn't just dark, it was a weird, yellow dark, which made everything look the same, whether it was cars/roads/buildings, and there was very little traffic on the road, which was most unusual. And it was teeming with rain.

I had just put some shopping in the car well at the back, I never put shopping on the backseat now because the alarms start blaring and red lights flashing, that I haven't strapped my passengers in. And there is no way of overriding that on the car settings. And then I put my walker on the backseat flat, because if I put it on its side on the backseat, the alarms start blaring and flashing again, telling me I have to strap the passengers in. I can hear you saying why doesn't she put the seat belts into their little holders, then that won't happen. Why I do not do that it's because when I am getting/pushing my walker on to the car seat with three seatbelts strapping in nothing on the backseat, the wheels/other sticking out bits on the walker gets tangled into the seatbelts and I can't push it in properly and spend ages trying to get in, and I am exhausted. And my walker cannot go into the boot (and neither can my shopping bags) because I already have my mobility scooter in there.

I pulled into the traffic, and suddenly the car is screaming and blaring alarms at me, various yellow and black lights were flashing, and the worst was red lights on the whole dashboard flashing at me. My brain froze, I thought the car was going to explode. I couldn't drive even to a safe point to find out what was going on, so I pulled over on to some chevrons. I knew the yellow and black flashing circles were most probably the car complaining I hadn't strapped my passenger (my walker) in. It was just the middle seat belt that was complaining it wasn't strapping anything in. I didn't know what the additional blaring siren and the flashing red lights on the dashboard was. I couldn't even see what was on my dashboard with those flashing red lights. To me, that level of alert meant get the heck out of the car and run as fast as you can away from it....

I turned the engine off, rearranged the walker on the back seat so it couldn't be resting on any sensor on the backseat. I am now absolutely soaking wet in this teaming rain....

I turn the engine on, silence, no alarms. I get back in the traffic...the blaring siren starts again and the red flashing lights across the dashboard. I don't believe this...I drive slowly to the retail park round the corner, park the car and go in Poundland to get away from the car. Then I am surprised how poorly stocked Poundland is. Buy myself an iced coffee. Drink that. Go back to the car, open then shut all doors and the boot. I cannot think of anything else to try. Get in the car, put my handbag on the front seat, and start the engine. Silence.

Start to drive slowly, still silence from the car, turn into the main road, then the front passenger seat is sending me alarms saying I haven't strapped my handbag in with the seatbelt.

A string of expletives from me. Handbag gets unceremoniously swiped to the floor. End of all the car alarms blaring at me.

But then I am in a 20mph zone, which was clearly marked by a road sign as I entered it, and I can hear a horn blaring at me and flashing lights from a white van man behind me who is annoyed I am keeping to exactly 20mph. He wants me to go faster but can't pass me because of the oncoming traffic.

Normally I would turn off to get rid of those idiots and come home through the housing estate. Not yesterday. I stayed on the main road doing exactly 20mph as is the law, and he was behind me for nearly a mile before I turned off to get home. By the time I got to my turning he had backed away from my tail and had stopped flashing and blaring his horn at me.

I would like to point out that (maybe in van driver's defence) that the Sat nav's have still NOT been updated (in my area of Wales) to the speed of 20 mph. And the Sat Nav speed limit still tells you that this is all a 30mph where I live. But it is all 20mph. And there are signs telling you it is 20mph, but the Sat nav still tells you it is a 30mph.

I got home, threw stuff in the fridge, and went to bed and to sleep for the rest of Monday. I'd had enough of Monday.

Today is research online how I can figure out to sort these berserk car alarms. And see what I can override. I have never hated a car so much...it even sings to me as I get in it with a trilling tune...

Time for a strong black coffee...

Have your best kind of day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.